In an exciting turn of events, Google seems to be working on a new trick that users have likely wanted access to for many years. It, probably, isn’t one of the easiest options it has sought to pull off with Gmail, but it will be one of the most useful for those who simply made a mistake or have grown out of the username they originally chosen.
That being said, Google apparently is working on an option that will allow users to change their Google username, thus changing their email address as well. Let’s say you started off a few decades ago with pokemonforever@gmail.com (apologies to anyone if these users exist) and have since grown to dislike the franchise or no longer want it to be related to their daily communications as an adult (I know, gasp, right?). Until now, the only option was to register for a whole new Google account. This makes multiple accounts you have to manage if you still want access to your old information/emails and you risk losing them if you forget to go back and log in from time to time.
If Google really does deliver, all of that would be a headache of the past. The company seems to be initially rolling this feature out in India. If successful, it may continue to roll it out to the rest of the world. It will allow you to change your username (thus also email address), while also preserving all of your old emails. Not only that, but you will still have access to receiving emails at the old address as well, thus there are no worries of missing out on any stragglers or someone reaching out to find you after so many years.
Basically, you’ll have both email addresses that can be used to receive mail or sign into Google services with. All combined into a single Google account, making things cleaner. This is likely an achievement obtained through the use of email/user forwarding services on their servers. Something you might be somewhat familiar with if you have ever paid for your own managed or self-managed hosting services.
You would also still have access to Gmail’s ability to create easy sub-usernames by making use of a “+” sign after your username, followed by whatever you want (username+magazinesubscription@gmail.com). This is a great way to compartmentalize everyone you have shared your email to so you know where spam is coming from when someone sells or leaks your information.
Users who change username will be locked out of changing it again or deleting it for 12 months. This is a fair decision since it will prevent indecisive people from potentially cluttering things up and hogging Gmail addresses and allows the company to address any concerns on whether or not to allow users to hold onto ALL usernames if they keep changing it.



