One of the most popular Google Chrome extensions (The Great Suspender) has just been given the boot from the Google Chrome store today and you might have just noticed it yourself. If you were using the extension, you likely would have seen a popup in the browser letting you know that the extension has been unloaded as it contained malware.
As a result, any open tab that was currently suspended would have also been closed at this time, causing you to lose all of those tabs you were holding onto. Doh! That’s going to make a good number of people lose their minds pretty quickly.
All good things come to an end it seems as this was one of our favorite extensions to recommend for all browsers. It had the greatest effect on resources for users who are multi-tasking a little harder than their system can handle. Allowing you to have plenty of tabs open and waiting but without sucking up a bunch of unnecessary resources when not actively in use. A powerful productivity tool to have in your browser(s).
At least, until it was bought out by someone else recently who decided to sneak in some added code that collected information from you without your knowing about it. This obviously didn’t brush well with Google (and the other extension/plugin stores as well), causing them to be ejected from the extension store (and others), and the plugin auto-removed from millions of browsers around the world.
Just like that, one of the greatest browser extensions/plugins ever was erased from existence. All because someone got greedy. It traded hands from the selfless to those with devious intentions. Something that happens to many great plugins and apps sadly.
To protect yourself from lost tabs and sessions in the future, it is always good to have something like Session Buddy loaded so that you can recover tabs that are accidentally closed or from crashed browser sessions. You can save your session before closing all of your windows and more. In this experience, you could find the original website URLs of the closed tabs within each cached URL. Looking at the header image as an example, you can see that the cached URL shows “https://www.google.com/”. The process of getting all those tabs open again might be brutal for some, but at least you’d have a safety line.




14 Comments
Thank you so much for informative blog and useful article.
Keep sharing special blogs like this.
This company is bastrad company. This company is a fake company. amazon price winner but not price give.
I used the commenting feature regularly as a consumer: I typically read the best reviews, and then the worst first, before I focus on the middle. I would often leave a clarifying comment if I felt the reviewer gave the product a bad rating because they did not understand the intended purpose or capacity of the product, or when it appears the issue was user error, and not a bad product. I think this helps other consumers to put a quality to an otherwise quantitative index. I found comments do not work equally well on positive reviews, though, bc even if they appear not objective, it is hard to counter something factual, or factually experienced (such as I used 10% of the features of the product and that worked), or the omission of the something factual.
Well that sucks! I really enjoyed that extension.
This hurt. Feel liks falling on your head. I lost many tabs. I like “Doh!” in the text haha
Story updated to with a tip on how to prevent the loss of information in the future.
I like Session Buddy. Saved me this round like it does every round.
80 tabs, 80 whole tabs, filled with my collective ideas from two years. and theyre gone 🙁
It’s always sad to hear things like that. For your situation and everyone else’s in the comments here, I updated the story with a tip on how to prevent something like this in the future from causing such a loss of information.
I don’t know how many tabs I lost on either of my two systems running but I am very saddened by this. It was my favorite as my computers are middle of the road at best and I’ll take whatever I can get when it comes to making them operate smoother.
37 tabs here (closed)
All of my tabs were cached with this plugin………so all the windows were closed and I was left with a single window open with a fresh tab and the error message telling me the plugin was removed.
Not cool!!! over 20 tabs on my browser suddenly closed and I lost most everything that was being saved on my screen! Why would they do that?? Hunt them down!